File for Divorce in Texas

Learn how to file for divorce in Texas

File for divorce in Texas using our simple 3 step process

Filing for divorce differs slightly from state to state. When you file for divorce in Texas there are a number of unique clauses and specific laws that those involved in the divorce must follow closely. Failure to abide by these specific laws will result in the petition to dissolve the marriage being declined.

In order to save tie, effort and most of all money, online divorce is a much better option for anyone in Texas considering divorce as the legal professionals at have taken all of the steps nbecessary to help our clients in the state of Texas have all of the forms and documentation they need, without the unneccessary worry of if the papers are all correct for their situation. If you are unfamiliar with the laws in Texas pertaining to divorce, here is a condensed, detailed list of the things you need to know.

Texas State Laws

When filing for divorce in Texas, One of the spouses must have resided in Texas for six months prior to filing and 90 days prior to filing in the county where the divorce is filed. In addition, there is a 60-day waiting period after filing before a divorce will be granted. [Texas Codes Annotated; Family Code, Chapter 6.301].

There are two reasons for divorce in Texas, fault and no fault. In order to file for divorce in Texas, the proper grounds must be established under the fault divorce claim only. Both spouses are involved in establishing these grounds, and both must substantiate and agree upon these, unless the divorcing spouse is trying to prove otherwise to the court.

Texas is also a “community property” state. This means the “community” property, consisting of any other property acquired by either spouse during the marriage, will be divided equally, unless the court finds that equal division would be unjust. In addition, the court may divide property acquired by either spouse while residing outside of Texas which would have been community property if they had acquired it while residing in Texas.

Either or both parents may be ordered to make periodic, lump-sum, or both types of child support payments. There are official child support guidelines set out in the statute and these are presumed to be reasonable and in the best interests of the child.

Online Process

All of this being said, the procedure carried out by you in order to obtain forms from is exactly the same. . Simply register online, pay the small fee, gather your papers and ready to get a divorce. Answer each of the questions we will ask you and the forms will be completed for you. Print our state approved completed forms, and file the divorce forms in the court. The hard part is left to our professional staff, and the easy part is done by you, the client.