Colorado Divorce Laws | Residency Requirements

Colorado

In order to file for divorce in Colorado some residency requirements must met for Colorado divorce courts to hear the case. If a Colorado court discovers that these requirements are not met or that the courts do not have jurisdiction over the matter the case can eventually be dismissed. The residency stipulations for Colorado state that one of the divorcing parties must reside or have resided legally within the state of Colorado for at least 90 days prior to filing for a divorce. When filing for divorce the petitioner may submit the proper papers within the county in which either the petitioner or the respondent may reside. Within 40 days of the Petition for Dissolution being filed, the court holds an Initial Status Conference, where it is determined if there should be a formal hearing on temporary issues while the divorce is pending.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top