Top 5 Oklahoma Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Oklahoma divorce laws.

Oklahoma

Prior to filing for an Oklahoma divorce, either spouse must be an Oklahoma resident for at least 6 months. In addition, either spouse must file for divorce in the county they have lived in for at least 30 days. This 30 day county residency period can be included in the 6 month state residency period.

Some states outline which counties a divorce can be filed for in. Usually, a divorce can be filed in the county in which the grounds for divorce occurred, or the county in which either spouse currently lives. But, Oklahoma does not restrict the county in which a spouse files for divorce in, as long as the residency requirements are met.

If both spouses agree to a divorce, and there are no children, a divorce may be granted 10 days after filing the divorce petition.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top