Top 5 Missouri Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Missouri divorce laws.

Missouri

The only reason for a Missouri divorce is irretrievable brokenness of the marriage without any likelihood that the marriage can be fixed. Under this one ground for divorce, however, there are many reasons why the marriage is irretrievably broken.

To file for a Missouri divorce, at least one spouse must be a Missouri resident for at least 90 days.

The earliest a marriage can be dissolved is 30 days after the divorce papers were filed.

When deciding on the amount of child support, Missouri courts consider the standard of living the child would have experienced had the divorce not happened.

After a divorce, once the spouse who received alimony is remarried, the alimony can be discontinued without a court hearing. However, child support still must be paid to the parent with main custody.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top