Top 5 Wyoming Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Wyoming divorce laws.

Wyoming

Wyoming divorce laws are clear and concise that the spouse filing for divorce must have been a resident of Wyoming for 60 days immediately prior to filing or the marriage must have been performed in Wyoming and the spouse filing must have resided in Wyoming from the time of the marriage until the time of the filing. The divorce may be filed for in the county where either spouse lives. Remember that there is a 20 day waiting after filing before a divorce will be granted.

There are mainly two reasons of divorce in Wyoming those are fault and general. Wyoming divorce law states that proper grounds must be established. Both spouses are involved in establishing these grounds, and both must substantiate and agree upon these, unless the divorcing spouse is trying to prove otherwise to the court.

Wyoming child custody divorce law may include joint, sole, or shared custody, as long as it is in the best interests of the child. Child custody will be awarded according to what appears to be most expedient and beneficial for the well-being of the child. The sex of the parent is not to be considered.

Either spouse may be awarded alimony in the form of a specific sum or property after consideration of the other’s ability to pay. Real estate or profits from real estate may be ordered transferred to the other spouse for alimony for life. Marital fault is not a factor.

Either parent may be ordered to pay child support. A trustee may be appointed to invest the support payments and apply the income to the support of the children. Child support payments shall be ordered to be paid through the clerk of the district court. A court may order income withholding to guarantee any child support payments as per Wyoming divorce law and there are official Guidelines for Wyoming Child Support.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top