Top 5 Wisconsin Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Wisconsin divorce laws.


One of the spouses must have been living in the state for six months, and in one county for 30 days, before filing for divorce in that county.

Under Wisconsin law, each parent has a duty to provide financial support for his or her minor children. Child support is based on the Wisconsin Child Support Formula. The Wisconsin divorce laws take into affect, the gross monthly income of both parents, special medical or educational needs of the child, the cost of health insurance, the cost of daycare and the cost of providing support to others.

The court may award spousal support or maintenance to either spouse, however, the spouse requesting support or maintenance must specifically state so in the divorce petition when initially filing.

Wisconsin is a \"Community Property\" state. Community property is all property that was acquired during the marriage. This property will be divided equally by the court if the parties are not able to come to an agreement. The court shall presume that all community property is to be divided equally between the parties, but may alter this distribution without regard if both parties do not meet a certain list of criteria specified upon first petition.

During the time in which a petition is being filed and its status is that of pending, the court may, upon written stipulation only, of both parties grant those in question the ability to reconcile. The two must enter an order suspending any and all orders and proceedings for such period, not exceeding 90 days, as the court determines advisable so as to permit the parties to attempt a reconciliation without prejudice to their respective rights.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top