Top 5 Vermont Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Vermont divorce laws.

Vermont

To file for divorce in Vermont, a spouse has to be a resident for 6 months, but to finalize a divorce a spouse must be a resident for 1 year.

The no-fault ground for divorce is living apart without cohabitation for 6 months without reconciliation. The 6 fault-based grounds for divorce are: adultery, imprisonment for 3 years or more, willful desertion for 7 years, intolerable and sever cruel and inhumane treatment, incurable mental illness, and gross neglect.

Custody is granted based on many factors that include but are not limited to: the parent’s wishes, each parent’s ability to provide for child, the child’s age and development, and the parents ability to cooperation and communicate about the child.

Spousal support in Vermont can be granted temporarily or permanently if the spouse seeking support has custody of the children and cannot provide for themselves, or if available employment does not meet their reasonable needs.

In all instances of child support, wage assignment must be made available to the court in the event of a delinquent payment to the custodian of the child.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top