Top 5 Tennessee Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Tennessee divorce laws.

Tennessee

The Tennessee residency requirements are not quite as stringent as in other states. To file for divorce in Tennessee, the filing spouse must have been a resident of Tennessee when the grounds for divorce occurred. In other states, the normal residency requirement demands the filing spouse be a resident for anywhere from 6 months to a year before filing for divorce.

If the grounds for divorce did not occur in Tennessee, however, either spouse must be a Tennessee resident for at least 6 months prior to filing for divorce. The keywords are “either spouse,” meaning if one spouse relocates to Tennessee, the spouse living in another state can file for a Tennessee divorce after the relocated spouse has lived in Tennessee for 6 months.

Tennessee requires people filing for divorce to file the papers within certain counties. You can file for divorce in the county both spouses lived in when they separated, in the Tennessee county the respondent spouse currently lives, or in the Tennessee county the petitioner currently lives.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top