Top 5 Tennessee Divorce Laws

The top 5 things everyone should know about Tennessee divorce laws.


There are two no-fault grounds for divorce in Tennessee.

• Irreconcilable differences. Both spouses must agree that the marriage cannot continue due to irreconcilable differences, and must also sign a martial dissolution agreement. A couple can file both under irreconcilable differences and a fault-based ground for divorce.
• Living apart and separate without cohabitation for two years, when there are no children involved in the marriage.

There are 13 fault-based grounds for divorce in Tennessee.

• Abandonment, neglect, or banning the spouse from the home
• Adultery
• Alcoholism and/or drug addiction
• Bigamy
• Conviction of an felony or imprisonment
• Conviction of an infamous crime
• Cruel and inhumane treatment or unsafe and improper marital conduct
• Endangering the life of the spouse
• Impotence
• Indignities that make the spouse’s life intolerable
• Refusing to move to Tennessee with a spouse and willfully absenting oneself from a new residence for two years.
• Wife is pregnant by another at the time of marriage without husband’s knowledge.
• Willful desertion for one year

When filing for divorce on grounds other than irreconcilable differences, the spouse filing for divorce must provide the court with facts about the other spouse’s infraction with reasonable certainty as to time and place.

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2021, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top