State Guidelines for Divorce

Understand the divorce laws for every state.

Divorce Laws for all States

There are different state laws that pertain to divorce for each state.  Knowing and understanding the correct information for you state can go a long way in determining whether your divorce will be processed quickly or held up for an indefinite period of time in Divorce Court limbo. So, in matters of divorce state guidelines, you need to be as well-informed as possible. The good news is that MyDivorcePapers.com has removed almost all of these pitfalls, and provided you with a comprehensive set of forms that fit for you and your circumstances, regardless of the state in which you live.

 
 
In divorce state laws, there can be a lot of confusion. We have taken the liberty of condensing a lot of the materials that attorneys use in drafting divorce documents, and provide everything you need to know without all the extra legalese. Below, we have a short summary of what those divorce state guidelines are:

Alabama - To get an Alabama online divorce you need to live in the state for six months or more before filing for a divorce. Alabama Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Alabama Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Alaska - To get an Alaska online divorce you need to live in the state for 30 days if you are in a branch of the military before filing for a divorce. Alaska Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Alaska Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Arizona - To get an Arizona online divorce you need to live in the state for 90 days before filing for a divorce. Arizona Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use a community distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Arizona Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Arkansas - To get an Arkansas online divorce you need to live in the state for 60 days before filing for a divorce. Arkansas Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Arkansas Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

California - To get a California online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. California Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use a community distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the California Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Colorado - To get a Colorado online divorce you need to live in the state for 90 days before the start of the divorce proceedings. Colorado Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Colorado Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Connecticut - To get a Connecticut online divorce you need to live in the state for a year prior to the divorce decree. Connecticut Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Connecticut Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Delaware - To get a Delaware online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Arizona Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Delaware Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

District of Columbia - To get a District of Columbia online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. District of Columbia Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the District of Columbia Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Florida - To get a Florida online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Florida Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Florida Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Georgia - To get a Georgia online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Georgia Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Georgia Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Hawaii - To get an Hawaii online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Hawaii Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Hawaii Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Idaho - To get an Idaho online divorce you need to live in the state for six weeks before filing for a divorce. Idaho Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use a community property distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Idaho Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Illinois - To get an Illinois online divorce you need to live in the state for 90 days before filing for a divorce. Illinois Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Illinois Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Indiana - To get an Indiana online divorce you need to be a resident of the state for six months before filing for a divorce if you are in a branch of the military. Indiana Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Indiana Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Iowa - To get an Iowa online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. Iowa Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Iowa Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Kansas - To get a Kansas online divorce you need to live in the state for 60 days before filing for a divorce. Kansas Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Kansas Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Kentucky - To get a Kentucky online divorce you need to live in the state for 180 days before filing for a divorce. Kentucky Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Kentucky Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Louisiana - To get a Louisiana online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. Louisiana Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use a community property of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Louisiana Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Maine - To get a Maine online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Maine Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Maine Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Maryland - To get a Maryland online divorce you need to live in the state for one year if the grounds for the divorce occurred outside the state, or two year if filing for divorce because of insanity, before filing for a divorce. Maryland Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Maryland Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Massachusetts - To get a Massachusetts online divorce you need to live in the state if the grounds for the divorce happened within the state, or a person must be a resident of the state for one year if the grounds for the divorce happened outside the state, before filing for a divorce. Massachusetts Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Kentucky Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Michigan - To get a Michigan online divorce you need to live in the state for 180 days before filing for a divorce. Michigan Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Michigan Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Minnesota - To get a Minnesota online divorce you need to live in the state for 180 days before filing for a divorce. Minnesota Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Minnesota Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Mississippi- To get a Mississippi online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Mississippi Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Mississippi Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Missouri - To get a Missouri online divorce you need to live in the state for 90 days before filing for a divorce. Missouri Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Missouri Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Montana - To get a Montana online divorce you need to live in the state for 90 days before filing for a divorce. Montana Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Montana Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Nebraska - To get a Nebraska online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. Nebraska Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Nebraska Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Nevada - To get a Nevada online divorce you need to live in the state for six weeks before filing for a divorce. Nevada Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use a community property distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Nevada Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

New Hampshire - To get a New Hampshire online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. New Hampshire Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the New Hampshire Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

New Jersey - To get a New Jersey online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. New Jersey Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the New Jersey Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

New Mexico - To get a New Mexico online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. New Mexico Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use a community property distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the New Mexico Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

New York - To get a New York online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. New York Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the New York Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

North Carolina - To get a North Carolina online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. North Carolina Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the North Carolina Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

North Dakota - To get a North Dakota online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. North Dakota Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the North Dakota Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Ohio - To get an Ohio online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Ohio Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Ohio Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Oklahoma - To get an Oklahoma online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Oklahoma Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Oklahoma Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Oregon - To get an Oregon online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Oregon Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Oregon Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Pennsylvania - To get a Pennsylvania online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Pennsylvania Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about thePennsylvania Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Rhode Island - To get a Rhode Island online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce. Rhode Island Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Rhode Island Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

South Carolina - To get a South Carolina online divorce you need to live in the state for three months if both spouses are residents, or one year if one of the spouses is not a resident before filing for a divorce. South Carolina Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the South Carolina Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

South Dakota - To get a South Dakota online divorce you need to be a resident of the state before filing for a divorce. South Dakota Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the South Dakota Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Tennessee - To get a Tennessee online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Tennessee Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Tennessee Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Texas - To get a Texas online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Texas Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an community property distribution of property and do require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Texas Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Utah - To get a Utah online divorce you need to live in the state for three months before filing for a divorce. Utah Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Utah Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Vermont - To get a Vermont online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Vermont Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Vermont Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Virginia - To get a Virginia online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Virginia Divorce Law offers only Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Virginia Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Washington - To get a Washington online divorce you need to be a resident of the state before filing for a divorce. Washington Divorce Law offers only both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Washington Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

West Virginia - To get a West Virginia online divorce you need to live in the state for one year before filing for a divorce, but this requirement is waived if the couple was married in the state. West Virginia Divorce Law offers both Fault and No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the West Virginia Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Wisconsin - To get a Wisconsin online divorce you need to live in the state for six months before filing for a divorce. Wisconsin Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an community property distribution of property and not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Wisconsin Divorce State Guidelines please click here.

Wyoming - To get a Wyoming online divorce you need to live in the state for 60 days before filing for a divorce. Wyoming Divorce Law offers only No-Fault divorces. They use an equitable distribution of property and do not require a Parenting Plan to be on file with the divorce. To learn more about the Wyoming Divorce State Guidelines please click here.