Things To Know

Online Divorce Facts

Common Facts about an Online Divorce

  • Alabama
    • Alabama recognizes common law marriages and is an equitable distribution state, meaning that if the ...
      Read More A legal separation may be awarded to both spouses under certain Alabama divorce laws. This is a cour...
      Read More Alabama divorce law states that the awarding of alimony is determined by the need of the spouse requ...
      Read More Alabama divorce laws are set in place to assure that minor children have frequent and continuing con...
      Read More Under Rule 32 in the Alabama divorce laws, Judicial Administration states that child support is dete...
      Read More
  • Alaska
    • Alaska state law stipulates that the petitioner or person initiating the filing for the divorce/diss...
      Read More There are mainly two reasons of divorce in Alaska that the courts recognize for filing. These are cl...
      Read More A court in Alaska grants the custody of the children upon divorce. The child custody can be granted ...
      Read More Alaska operates as an “equitable distribution” state. Both joint and separate property that is ...
      Read More Either spouse has the option to request marital mediation in an attempt to reconcile the marriage or...
      Read More
  • Arizona
    • Arizona divorce law recognizes what is termed a covenant marriage, which is a higher standard of mar...
      Read More
  • Arkansas
    • The spouse filing for an Arkansas divorce must be an Arkansas resident for 60 days, and must wait fo...
      Read More
  • California
    • Technically, there are only two grounds for divorce. The two grounds for divorce are: Irreconcil...
      Read More In California, an unwilling spouse or domestic partner cannot stop the divorce process since there i...
      Read More There are 8 circumstances that legally annul a marriage. These are: Incest: Close blood relatives...
      Read More After child or spousal support is issued by the court, the paying parent must pay that child support...
      Read More Although no one can be imprisoned for debt, a parent or spouse can be imprisoned for refusing to pay...
      Read More
  • Colorado
    • In order to file for divorce in Colorado some residency requirements must met for Colorado divorce c...
      Read More In Colorado to formally petition for the dissolution of marriage a spouse must declare an accepted g...
      Read More If the courts conclude that a reconciliation of the marriage seems reasonably possible, or that ther...
      Read More When minor children are involved in the dissolution of marriage process, the Colorado courts will do...
      Read More In the state of Colorado, not all cases of divorce involve the dispute of support from one spouse to...
      Read More
  • Connecticut
    • In order to finalize a divorce in Connecticut, either spouse must have been a Connecticut resident f...
      Read More
  • Delaware
    • Before filing for divorce in Delaware, the filing spouse must already have been a Delaware resident ...
      Read More
  • District of Columbia
    • At least one spouse must be a resident of D.C. for 6 months in order to file for divorce. In the cas...
      Read More
  • Florida
    • To obtain a divorce under Florida law one or either of the spouses must have resided in the state of...
      Read More Spousal support, or alimony, is an available option in Florida. The court may order spousal support ...
      Read More Florida property division guidelines follow an "equitable distribution" process, which means that th...
      Read More A Florida divorce court may serve a couple court-ordered, mandatory mediation or counseling in a few...
      Read More Child support guidelines in Florida are based on the paying parent’s income, the standard of livin...
      Read More
  • Georgia
    • In order to legally file for divorce in the state of Georgia there are residency requirements that m...
      Read More A petition for Divorce must declare the appropriate grounds judged upon by the state of Georgia to b...
      Read More When judging Georgia divorce custody cases with minor children the Georgia courts will do everything...
      Read More For property division for Georgia divorces, the state uses "equitable distribution.” This is to sa...
      Read More In the state of Georgia divorce law guidelines and rules for determining child support Georgia uses ...
      Read More
  • Illinois
    • Gross and confirmed habits (drugs or alcohol abuse) related to a spouse’s two-year-old problem are...
      Read More
  • Indiana
    • To file for divorce, Indiana divorce laws require either the petitioner or the respondent to have be...
      Read More
  • Iowa
    • If the defendant spouse is a resident of Iowa and was personally served the dissolution of marriage ...
      Read More
  • Kansas
    • Kansas divorce laws permit petitioning on one of three grounds: 1) incompatibility, 2) failure to pe...
      Read More
  • Kentucky
    • It is illegal to marry the same person 4 times, also according to Kentucky State divorce laws, upon ...
      Read More Kentucky divorce law states that the filing party must meet certain criteria before a Court can lega...
      Read More In a Kentucky divorce involving children, the law requires a mandatory 60-day waiting period before ...
      Read More If one of the parties has denied under oath that the marriage is irretrievably broken, the court sha...
      Read More Kentucky divorce law states that the Blue Grass State is an "equitable distribution" state, this mea...
      Read More
  • Louisiana
    • To file for a no-fault divorce in Louisiana, neither spouse must prove martial breakdown, incompatib...
      Read More
  • Maine
    • To divorce in Maine, one spouse must be a resident for at least 6 months prior to filing, unless the...
      Read More
  • Maryland
    • If the grounds for divorce occurred outside of Maryland, Maryland divorce law is clear in that one o...
      Read More
  • Massachusetts
    • In Massachusetts, the no-fault ground for divorce is irretrievable breakdown of the marriage, which ...
      Read More
  • Michigan
    • Michigan is a no-fault state. Obtaining a no-fault divorce under Michigan law requires a demonstrati...
      Read More
  • Mississippi
    • Before filing for divorce in the state of Mississippi there are certain residency requirements poten...
      Read More There are mainly two reasons of divorce in Mississippi those are fault and general. In order to file...
      Read More Joint or sole child custody is awarded based on the best interests of the child. There are no specif...
      Read More If irreconcilable differences are the grounds for divorce, joint custody may be awarded if both pare...
      Read More Mississippi is one of the rare states that still operate as a “title” state. Each spouse retains...
      Read More
  • Missouri
    • The only reason for a Missouri divorce is irretrievable brokenness of the marriage without any likel...
      Read More
  • Montana
    • One of the spouses must be a resident of Montana for 90 days immediately prior to filing. Montana di...
      Read More
  • Nebraska
    • The dissolution of marriage may be filed for in a county where either spouse resides. There is a 60-...
      Read More
  • Nevada
    • One of the spouses must have been a resident of Nevada for at least six weeks prior to filing for di...
      Read More
  • New Hampshire
    • To divorce in New Hampshire, both spouses must be New Hampshire residents upon filing, the filing sp...
      Read More
  • New Jersey
    • If a couple wants to file for a no-fault divorce in New Jersey a legal separation lasting at least 1...
      Read More In the state of New Jersey divorce proceedings child support guidelines are judged on the Income Sha...
      Read More In determining child custody of divorce proceedings in the state of New jersey the courts will do ev...
      Read More New Jersey divorce laws have five types of spousal support. Rehabilitative alimony is a short-term m...
      Read More New Jersey divorce proceedings operate as is an "equitable distribution" state, any marital property...
      Read More
  • New Mexico
    • One of the spouses must have been a resident of New Mexico for at least six months immediately prece...
      Read More
  • North Carolina
    • Either one spouse or both spouses must be North Carolina residents for at least 6 months before fili...
      Read More
  • North Dakota
    • The court may grant a temporary or permanent decree of separation before a divorce is legally finali...
      Read More
  • Ohio
    • Top 5 Ohio Laws to know when filing for a divorce In order to file for a divorce in Ohio, residen...
      Read More
  • Oklahoma
    • Prior to filing for an Oklahoma divorce, either spouse must be an Oklahoma resident for at least 6 m...
      Read More Altogether, there are 12 grounds for divorce in Arkansas. 1 is the no-fault ground for divorce, and ...
      Read More In cases of child custody, Oklahoma will decide on custody plans that are in the best interests of t...
      Read More Oklahoma is an equitable distribution state, meaning if a spouse obtained a piece of property before...
      Read More Oklahoma child support depends on if the parent with sole custody of the child can adequately suppor...
      Read More
  • Oregon
    • If the marriage was not performed in Oregon, one of the spouses must have been a resident of Oregon ...
      Read More There are mainly two reasons of divorce in Oregon those are fault and general. In order to file for ...
      Read More Oregon is an “equitable distribution” state. All of the spouses’ property is subject to divisi...
      Read More In ordering child support, the formula established by Oregon divorce law shall apply. Information ca...
      Read More There are official child support scales and formulas available. Oregon divorce laws state that the c...
      Read More
  • Pennsylvania
    • To obtain a Pennsylvania divorce, the spouses must wait 90 days after the divorce papers were filed....
      Read More
  • Rhode Island
    • A divorce may be awarded if a spouses exhibits “[c]ontinued drunkenness,” or if there is “habi...
      Read More
  • South Carolina
    • South Carolina divorce law recognizes no-fault and fault divorces. Under no-fault, both parties must...
      Read More
  • South Dakota
    • South Dakota is an equitable distribution state, this means that marital assets will be distributed ...
      Read More
  • Tennessee
    • The Tennessee residency requirements are not quite as stringent as in other states. To file for divo...
      Read More There are two no-fault grounds for divorce in Tennessee. • Irreconcilable differences. Both sp...
      Read More In deciding child custody in Tennessee, the courts favor joint custody plans but will make a decisio...
      Read More As an equitable division state, Tennessee property obtained separately, outside of the marriage is r...
      Read More Spousal support is money given from one spouse to the other, and is also known as alimony or mainten...
      Read More
  • Texas
    • Texas recognizes common law marriages, however, the Texas divorce laws state that same-sex couples w...
      Read More Texas is a \"Community Property\" state. Community property is all property that was acquired during...
      Read More In cases that are deemed fit, Texas divorce law states that the court shall award to a spouse the fo...
      Read More Alimony is awarded only in cases of marriage or civil union of ten years or longer and the payments ...
      Read More Under Texas divorce laws, in a decree of divorce or annulment, the court shall change the name of a ...
      Read More
  • Utah
    • The spouse filing for divorce must have been a resi¬dent of Utah (or a member of the Armed Forces s...
      Read More
  • Vermont
    • To file for divorce in Vermont, a spouse has to be a resident for 6 months, but to finalize a divorc...
      Read More
  • Virginia
    • Virginia divorce laws state that a divorce from bed and board may be decreed for cruelty, reasonable...
      Read More
  • Washington
    • The only ground for divorce in Washington is irretrievable breakdown of the marriage, but the number...
      Read More
  • West Virginia
    • West Virginia divorce laws are clear that one of the spouses must have been a resident of West Virgi...
      Read More
  • Wisconsin
    • One of the spouses must have been living in the state for six months, and in one county for 30 days,...
      Read More
  • Wyoming
    • Wyoming divorce laws are clear and concise that the spouse filing for divorce must have been a resid...
      Read More

Home | Help Center | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

© 2017 MyDivorcePapers.com, All Rights Reserved.

Back to Top